Rod’s Togs – ‘Number Two’!

Last week I was invited to an event my mate was hosting. He told me it was ‘sixties-themed’. I thought this was right up my alley so this is what I wore:

Only when I got there did I realise that beyond being ‘sixties-themed’ it was actually ‘Austin Powers-themed’ and that I was inadvertently emulating Robert Wagner as ‘Number Two’!

I’m usually not really into ‘fancy dress’, but as this was what I’d deem to be ‘normal clothes’ for me, I’m disappointed that I didn’t see this coming and get hold of an eye patch to complete the look! Next time …

Suit – Thick As Thieves

Roll-neck – Tyrwhitt

Chelsea Boots – Arthur Knight.

One thought on “Rod’s Togs – ‘Number Two’!

  1. Surprise surprise… Prefer your suit to Robert Wagner’s, tbh. I guess the other guests indulged in some “shagadelic” excesses against good taste.

    Thing is the average Joe can’t conceive that someone dresses according mostly to a 60s framework without picturing some fancy dress that includes ruffled shirts, velvet trousers with flares and Regency jackets. Thanks God, because that notion keep us under the radar, except for sussed folks. Many garments we favour are part of “classic” menswear since mid-20th Century, so they don’t even raise an eyebrow, but details ARE everything.

    Like

Leave a comment