Rod’s Togs – Notes On Knitwear

Recently the MGM channel on TV seems to have set itself up as a rival to Turner Classic Movies and is showing a lot of golden oldies during the day. A few weeks ago they were having an Audrey Hepburn day, which included ‘Roman Holiday’ and ‘Breakfast At Tiffany’s’ in which the male protagonists Gregory Peck and George Peppard both sport some cool mid- century / Ivy threads.

Perhaps less well-known Hepburn films on display included ‘Funny Face’ followed by ‘Paris When It Sizzles’.

Whenever I’m watching films made in the sixties I always pay some attention to the style, with an eye to wondering if there are any ideas on show that I can incorporate into my own style. ‘Funny Face’ stars the very stylish Fred Astaire and on display is a quirk that he coined of tying a necktie around his waist through the loops on his strides in place of a belt. A cool idea but not for me.

What I really liked was a scene in which he’s doing an outdoor photo shoot with Audrey, wearing a sky blue cardigan over a white OCBD shirt and grey flannels.

I was quite taken with the colour of Fred’s cardigan here and it brought to mind knitwear of a similar colour worn by ill-fated James Bond ally Mathis in ‘Quantum Of Solace’:

In ‘Paris When It Sizzles’ there’s a film-within-a-film sub-plot which includes a cameo by Tony Curtis playing a stylish hipster who arrives on scene driving a Lambretta LD, wearing a scarlet red v-neck, white jeans and tan desert boots (with aviator shades).

I’ve discussed knitwear on the blog before, and noted that with some exceptions, it’s mostly not for me. Firstly it’s rarely cold enough here in Florida to require knitwear and when it is I’m more likely to wear a jacket as my second layer. Secondly it’s my belief that it’s hard to get knitwear to look good, avoiding unflattering bulges and rumples, and buttons and belt buckles poking through.

Still, although I’m not a cardigan man right after these two films ended I was scrolling the internet in search of v-necks in sky blue and scarlet red. So below are my interpretations which are tweaked from the inspiration pics to more appropriately match my personal style and prevailing climate.

Sunglasses – Jacques Marie Mage Molino in camel

V-neck – Lacoste

Polo – Lacoste

Strides – Levi’s sta-pressts

Loafers – Cheaney

Sunglasses – Dita Spacecraft

V-neck – Lacoste

Polo – Lacoste

Strides – Levi’s 501

Desert boots – Clark’s Originals in honey amber

Leave a comment