Rod’s Togs – The Navy Linen Suit

It’s been a long time since I wore this suit. It’s been superseded in my choices I suppose by linen or linen-blend suits I own in brighter colours such as tobacco brown, cobalt blue and sky blue.

A navy linen suit may seem a strange choice in this day and age. Perhaps in the long-gone days of daily business-formal wear a navy linen suit allowed a man to comply with the conservative conventions while achieving some comfort from the heat during the dog days of summer. As business dress codes have become more casual, navy suits of any fabric may these days seem archaic in all but the most conservative professions.

This one is made of heavy Irish linen and is lined in the front quarters and with a ‘butterfly lining across the shoulders. It seems counter-intuitive but I have read that heavy Irish linen is alleged to wear cooler than it’s lighter Italian counterpart but I couldn’t be sure of that. It does appear to be less susceptible to wrinkles.

The suit is cut a little more generously than most of my wool suits which is welcome in Florida during the dog days of summer.

I wore it today with a raw silk tie which has a curious dry and rough texture, and coordinating green and blue pocket square, cuff links and socks.

Sunglasses – Jacques Marie Mage Last Frontier Rawlins in black

Shirt – T. M. Lewin raw silk

Tie – Land’s End

Pocket Square – Saks

Cufflinks – Tyrwhitt

Socks – The Tie Bar

Shoes – Allen-Edmonds Players in navy suede

Leave a comment