Rod’s Togs – Jury Duty

For another depressing data point for those plotting the demise of classic menswear , I recently had a three-hour layover at Atlanta Hartsfield Jackson airport (ATL) supposedly the busiest airport in the world. After grabbing a sandwich I spent the rest of my time people watching. This was a Tuesday afternoon when you’d expect to see plenty of business travellers along with holiday makers. In that time I didn’t see a single suit, nor a single tie. A handful of blazers / sports jackets was the most formal clothing on display.

Today I had to do jury duty – the first time since I became a citizen in 2007. There was a vague, slightly portentous dress code instruction along with the directions – “no shorts” or something. Once again from a room full of hundreds of people I was the only one in a tie. Anyone who has seen the TV show ‘Bull’ will know that there’s a lot that goes into jury selection, but after the voir dire session I was not picked. Whether my attire went into that decision at all I neither know nor care. I did my duty by reporting and was glad to go home early!

Sunglasses – Ray Ban Wayfarers in metallic teal with mirror lenses

Blazer – Suitsupply navy hopsack

Shirt – Nordstrom

Tie – Chipps raw silk

Pocket Square – The Tie Bar madras

Strides – Howard Yount tropical wool

Socks – Uniqlo

Loafers – Blackstock and Webber burgundy pebble grain

Leave a comment